Using Leaflet.js for making my maps zoomable

Tags:

30 Dec 2015 - MawKernewek

I have come across the Javascript library Leaflet.JS which I have begun applying to my maps of Cornwall.

It may be used, in conjuction with Mapbox, to render OpenStreetMap in a number of styles, for example:  link to taklowkernewek.neocities.org.

I have also made one of the versions of my cycling maps of Cornwall zoomable. This is simply done by rendering a 16384x16384px image of the map in QGIS, and then simply using Leaflet.js to make it zoomable, with the assistance of gdal2tiles.py to make the various 256px square tiles needed.

Link: taklowkernewek.neocities.org/mappys/leafletJStest/westcornwall.html

Follow link for zoomable version of this map, and also further maps of mid and east Cornwall.

Back to blog index page