Tomatoes and chillis in mini-greenhouse outside

Tags:

18 Mar 2018 - MawKernewek

The weather was getting warmer this time last week so I put my mini greenhouse outdoors and the tomato plants into it, along with some of my chilli seedlings. Thus far they have done OK, although it looks like frost again tonight with possibility of snow.

The primrose plant flowering in a hanging basket containing some strawberry plants as well

Daffodils on the left, with a blueberry plant along with some strawberry plants that I grew from runners last year. The spruce in the pot isn't looking too healthy, with most of the needles turned brown.

Some new growth is evident on the transplanted strawberry plants.

Dwarf daffodils, and some crocuses that have been beaten down by recent rain. Some sweet pea plants that I grew from an autumn sowing have recently been planted, although I have kept the better seedlings in my parents greenhouse to wait until the daffodils finish before transplanting them.



The mini greenhouse, showing tomato plants and chilli seedlings.

A temperature sensor is located in between the two trays, one of which contains chilli seedlings from my own plants from last year, and the other seeds ordered from Greece.

the two plants on the right are Chilean guava (Ugni molinae).

The temperature sensor display, showing the external sensor with a temperature of 4.5°C at this time. I have put a tandorri pot, filled with hot water from the kettle, in an effort to keep the greenhouse temperature above freezing. I first did this around 9pm but didn't add any insulation to the greenhouse, and then did so again from 12:30am the original water being cool by then, and added a flanel shirt and fleece jacket to the greenhouse.
a fleece covering the top of the greenhouse

The tandoori pot filled with hot water

The temperature was at just over 2°C before the hot water was put in, and rose to 4°C a few minutes after the picture was taken.

Back to blog index page